9 February 2024

Community scholarships awarded to twenty-eight Gunnedah Shire Students

Whitehaven is delighted to sponsor this year’s Gunnedah Shire Community Scholarship Fund. Established in 2003 by former Gunnedah Shire Mayor, Gae Swain, OAM, the Fund is a community initiative that provides financial support to help local students pursue tertiary education. Since its inception, the fund has assisted hundreds of local students across disciplines including accounting, agriculture civil engineering, law, social work and medicine.

Earlier this week, Mayor Jamie Chaffey said he was proud to present scholarships to twenty-eight students, one of the largest numbers of students in the Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund’s 21-year history. Speaking with Mirage News, Mayor Chaffey said:

“This is one of Council’s highlights of the year, making tertiary education just a little bit more accessible to our young people,” Cr Chaffey said.

“This is a big time in their lives and, in partnership with the local community, the Gunnedah Community Scholarship Fund offers financial assistance that eases the way and shows the recipients their home town supports their further learning.”

Aligned with the principle of continuous learning, the fund extends its invitation to all local students under the age of 25, providing them with the means to pursue higher education at universities, TAFEs, or accredited training organisations. Scholarships offered encompass a wide range of essential expenses, spanning from textbook procurement to aiding in relocation, covering living expenses, and contributing towards tuition fees.

Whitehaven’s Dean Scott, General Manager Open Cuts, was delighted to present scholarships to students who will be undertaking medical and allied health studies. “It’s more than just financial support,” Dean said, “It’s a community nurturing the academic and professional growth of future leaders.”

The presentation took place this week (February 6) at the Civic Theatre, with guest speaker, teacher and past Scholarship Fund recipient Oliver Neader.

Back to News

to top